God is love


god-is-loveDear friends, let us continue to love one another, for love comes from God. (1 John 4:7)

Unconditional love is a subject that some avoid. A subject where as much as has there’s been written about it there are as many cases against its validity and the belief that it can truly be exercised. It could be, as a Christian, one area of our life that will challenge us the most because love is tested when emotions drive us away from God’s intention.

For me, I have had my share of battles not only conveying this type of love but being the reciprocal party. At times, it doesn’t take much for us to push away from a friend, a co-worker, or a loved one. Sometimes the simplest thing that we hold tightly to that in the end holds us hostage from God’s intention for us to live in peace and joy with one another. To be content within ourselves.

For me, there are two things that I reflect on when embracing unconditional love in my own personal life:

1. Practice

There some of us that have natural abilities and need little practice to exercise consistency in our efforts but let’s face it for most of us, we need practice. So, if we understand that we need to practice to be good at what we desire to achieve so then unconditional love will require the same effort of repetitive actions regardless if we don’t feel willing to put forth the effort. We will have to sacrifice what we feel for what God has commanded us to do.

2. Confidence in my relationship with God

When I feel that I am drifting from God or feel that my confidence is shaken, I look to see if there is a relationship in my life that does not express unconditional love. I have found that when a relationship is faltering or is not as it should be because of my unwillingness to love or to be loved I don’t feel as close to God and my confidence in Him is shaken. It is not that God has moved away from me, it is because I am not following what God had intended for my life and I feel distant.

There will be many times we won’t feel like loving our neighbor, our family, or our spouse but God commands us to love one another so here is the question?

If we don’t love people we can see, how can we love God, whom we cannot see? (1 John 4:20)

 

Love is tested when emotions drive us away from God’s intention.

Tweet: Love is tested when emotions drives us away from God's intention. http://ctt.ec/xFM4O via @briansuman

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

