Peace of mind and heart


16569676_sThis morning I am reminded that even though Christmas is once again behind us, the chasing of gifts continues.

As I sip on my coffee and wait for my eyes to adjust to the bright light in the room, I can’t help but think of a gift coming soon. The anticipation overtakes my patience and I fumble on the keyboard to track the package as if I was looking for the location of Santa’s sleigh.

It would not be a honest statement if I said that I didn’t like gifts. We all do. Big or small. There is just something that brings joy to our hearts when someone has thoughts of us and presents a package of love. Our smile widens and our heartbeats quickly as anticipation warms us.

But as I chase after gifts of this world, I must not take my eyes off the gift that was given to us from from our Savior. (tweet this!)

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” (John 14:27)

Packages will open and close and smiles and anticipation will turn off from gifts of this world but one thing that we all can rest assured in.

There is a gift given to us that will be here today, tomorrow, and forever.

Dear God, whatever gifts of this world I am given please help remind me that your son died for me and left me the greatest gift of all. Amen. 

, ,

  1. #1 by branch.ruby2@gmail.com on December 31, 2014 - 3:43 pm

    Amen

    Sent from my HTC

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

