Burning bush


29591312_sWe have all seen a burning bush right?

Well, we may have not had the same attention-grabbing experience with a bush on fire as Moses experienced but God has or is doing something in our lives to focus us on Him and his plan for us.

Maybe the bush for you is your ever-increasing interest in the Word of God. The draw to read your Bible. The draw to converse with others who believe so that you may learn more. The urge to draw closer and look.

Maybe the church you pass each day on your commute begins to grab your focus. The building in which you passed by numerous times before has you imagining attending the service on a Sunday. Has you imaging being a part of the church body.

The bush may have been the altar where you confessed your sins and gave your life to Christ. It had the power to draw you up out of your seat and gave you the strength to come closer and to hear God speak your name.

Maybe you have been walking with Christ for some years now and God is trying to get your attention to dig deeper into ministry and fish for people.

In any situation, He has lit the bush.

But in all the excitement and anticipation, we all seem to be just like Moses and question God as he did. We see in the following scripture that Moses made many attempts to try to tell God that he was not the one. I believe that when we are drawn to the bush in our personal situation we often do the same.

 But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?” – Exodus 3:11

Who am I? This is the one that may be the biggest obstacle for any of us to get past. Are past sins and lack of confidence immediately has us retreating at the  thought of going ahead with God.

Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?” – Exodus 3:13

God replies to Moses, “I am who I am and say this to the people”. Simply put, we don’t need to hesitate to tell others about God and what He has called us to do. There will always be skeptics. Those who don’t believe and can’t understand how God is moving in your life and calling you into action.

 Moses answered, “What if they do not believe me or listen to me and say, ‘The Lord did not appear to you’?” – Exodus 4:1

Our testimony will bring the glory to God and show His presence in our life. There will be critics and there will be those who will rebel against you but stand strong and tell others your story. Tell them about God appearing to you.

Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.” – Exodus 4:10

This is one of my biggest fears. What if I  don’t say the right thing? What if someone questions me about God? About the details of my calling? What if I stutter?

The answer is in the next two verses…

The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.” – 4:13

Sometimes we just don’t want to do what someone else wants us to do. We don’t want to deal with it right now. It’s not the right time. I don’t want to change. Life will not be as rewarding as it is right now if I follow God’s call. This is not what I dreamed my life would be about.

The list of excuses goes on and on but in the Bible God called on many who would appear not qualified for the job. God doesn’t call the qualified. He qualifies the called and He will do the same for each one of us. He has lit the bush and he has called us by name to come closer. In return, we will ignite the questions and we will seek to be removed from the selection.

Lord, I pray today that the fears that we have will be extinguished by your power and that you will give us the courage to move in the direction you call us to. That you will give us the answers that we earnestly seek from you and that you give us the strength to come closer to the bush so that we may hear you speak our name.

Amen

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by julessuman on December 2, 2014 - 12:52 pm

    Love this post. I see you moving closer to your burning bush and listening to God’s will for your life daily. Makes me very proud.

    Like

Leave a Reply

