Even in Prison


prison barsFor God is working in you, giving you the desire and the power to do what pleases him. (Philippians 2:13)

It feels hard at times to want to please God and ‘do’ when things aren’t going our way but as believers in Christ the desire should be ever-present. We get dragged down by the power of a bad day or a circumstance that hits us from the blind side. So many negatives can make us spin out of control and leave us feeling paralyzed and imprisoned. In was in prison that Paul wrote the letter to the Philippians and he is an honorable example of his reverence and desire to serve God in tough circumstances. The Greek town of Philippi was the first of the Roman colony to hear the Good News and Paul shared it from behind bars. His desire to do was never extinguished and it burned bright in what had to his dark times. 

God’s indwelling Spirit is working in us each of us everyday, giving us the desire and power to please Him and to give us good pleasure. Our hard work to battle through the hard times and not-so-pleasant trials shows our salvation in Jesus Christ. As a believer, we do not have the power to stifle the Spirit and it is by a planned purpose that will drive us to be delivered through the brokenness and released from prison. Paul inspires me to pray even more fervently for the guiding of the Spirit in my life. That I will be energized in ways that I have never experienced and that inspiration will fall on me to follow my Spirit-filled heart confirming my salvation that is of heart and not of the mind.

There are no circumstances that we face tall enough and wide enough to stop our God and no bars of steel that can stop the Spirit. Even when I am behind bars, I can write a letter. Even when I am behind bars, I can shine the light.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by julessuman on November 13, 2014 - 7:04 am

    Your desire to be energized and inspired by the Spirit is what carries me through and inspires me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

