Cup of Coffee with God


It is early on a Saturday morning and it is cold. The snow of the first year is beginning to fall and so are my eye lids. The morning is a peaceful time for me and I never have to rise to the day as early as I choose to but it is also my time with God. The time for a hot cup of coffee that warms up my engine and The Word that warms and brings the morning light to my soul. The tranquility allows me to focus and the void of busyness and the noise of the world outside our home is at a standstill.

11919053_s

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly. – Psalm 5:3

I begin each day in The Word and in prayer. It is my compass and it helps me to set my tone and a time to bring my thoughts to God. Even when there are times in the early hours that my conversation seems dry and non-existent I just sit in His presence. Listening for Him through the slight decibel of the morning wind or the drip of the coffee pot that ticks in our quiet house. He is there  and he patiently waits for my heart to open up to him and listen.

Today, the morning is cold and there is the absence of light. The sun will rise and illuminate the sky today and the same God that makes that magnificent event happen can shine a bright light on my darkness. He allowed a Son to rise for me and through Him there is a light that casts down on my steps as I navigate in my journey for Him. There maybe a cold dark morning that we rise out of bed to but when we sit in the Son in the morning with out cup of coffee there is one thing for sure.

We have all the warmth we need.

27365880_s

You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness. – Psalm 18:28

Lord, today I come to you in thanks for all that you do for me. I am in awe of your power and grace and I know that even though I may feel cold and the world may seem dark at times, you have never left my side and are still at work in my life. Please give me the strength today to push through what challenges I will face and use me to be the conduit that allows your light to reach a dark place.

Amen

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

