Renew


renewDo not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. – Romans 12:2

This doesn’t happen just because we wish to be a better person and we read all the self-help books we can to be a better version of ourself because honestly… good doesn’t get us into Heaven. This can only happen with the help of God and to be transformed we must surrender. To truly ask Jesus into your heart and to stop fighting against what we were created to be. For some, it takes being in that dark place that you no longer want reside. You are tired of hurting and your fight has no punch left in it. You yearn to see a light that will guide you out of hurt and into joy. A lighthouse that will help you steer clear of destruction.

For me, it was an addiction. One that left me powerless, confused, and weak. The patterns of the world had taken its toll on my soul and I was lost. My life was a pattern and the pattern had no color. It was then that I began to feel the tug on my heart. A tug that had always been there but was covered up with hurt. Finally, God was getting my attention and I accepted Him. It was then that He showered me with His grace and my whole life began to change.

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.

From that day forward, my mind has been on a continuous transformation. One that I cannot control because God has the wheel now. All I can say from my own personal experience is that God’s power and presence in my life has been so amazing. My mind has been, is, and will be on a path of renewal. I was so fearful, like many, that the renewing would be painful and things I always thought after would be a struggle to let go but honestly that has not been the case. When you invite the Spirit of Jesus into your heart and you commit to Him and say truly, your will be done. It just happens. Just like we read it will.

So, if you are hurting and you are done fighting go to the altar or bow your head and pray where you are. Go before God and ask Him into your heart. Ask for the transformation and be ready for the renewal that’s coming your way.

Blessings

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by patchingcracks on October 22, 2014 - 12:57 pm

    Addicting can be terribly destructive and show you what it means to be very distant from God. Great commentary on the renewing of the mind. Addicts especially are painfully aware of this, but all redeemed sinners should be. Thanks for this honest and powerful devotion.

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on October 22, 2014 - 1:07 pm

      Thank you for taking your time to read and comment. The power of addiction is often immeasurable but by the grace of God the weight of what we carry can be lifted.

      Blessings,
      Brian

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

