I Want to be Baptized


baptism“Dad, I want to get baptized”. Words that a Christian parent prays that they will hear from their child as some point in their life. Words that hopefully turn into a walk with Jesus Christ that will last throughout their lifetime here on earth and will carry them into eternity. A walk where they will find grace, peace, and joy. My son Nicholas told me this last night as we lay in the dark just talking about the day, his time at Awanas that evening, and about God. He is such a curios little man who is seeking to know more about the Gospel and what it all means. So much, he was even challenging my Bible skills.

As the conversation wrapped up, I returned to his comment and told him that Dad has prayed many hours that our kids would take this step but I also spoke to him about listening to his heart. At his young age, that conversation could be a little ahead of his time but if we are talking about Jesus there is no age discrimination and it should be taken seriously. I want him to feel that tug at the heart. I want him to feel the desire to not stop talking about it until it happens. I want him to want it and not because I want it for him.

Before we drifted off to sleep, we both agreed that if it continues to tug at his heart then we will walk down that path together.  We will walk into the river and rise out of it together in Christ.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by juliesuman on February 20, 2014 - 6:06 pm

    Beautiful moment…beautifully expressed. I love you both!

    Like

Leave a Reply

