Cockroaches


light bulbCockroaches scatter when the light comes on. So do our secrets and toxic thoughts.

The word darkness has been on my mind over the last couple of weeks and I have been pondering on its spiritual implications. To find our way in darkness, we seek illumination yet spiritually we have a tough time allowing that light in.

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it. – John 1:5

In Celebrate Recovery, I have learned that I am to openly confess my faults to myself, God, and to someone I trust.  As simple as it sounds, it can become a difficult task to deal with depending on what needs to be confessed and who may be affected by the confession.

The power there in lies with just getting the thoughts and feelings out and not bury even the smallest of sins.  Shining the light on your darkness. Throughout our life, we hide emotions and secrets and through time they can no longer be carried. The weight becomes too much to bear. The guilt and shame begins to eat you from the inside out. We begin to cope with activities and habits that lead us into even deeper depths.

The light can come in so many forms. Recovery programs, therapy sessions, journaling, or a cup of coffee with a accountability partner. I even took the opportunity with my wife during our study time yesterday morning to share some toxic feelings that had stemmed from hardships that we are dealing with in our family. Did it solve the issue, no, but it relieved me of something that had started to become hidden in the darkness and had begun to be reflected in my interactions with her and others. It was my darkness consuming me.

There is no cookie cutter process because we are all unique but one thing is a common thread in all our lives. We all have darkness that needs light. We all have cockroaches that will scatter.

You light a lamp for me. The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness. – Psalm 18:28

dark to light

, , , ,

  1. #1 by juliesuman on January 5, 2014 - 3:52 pm

    Very well said! Thank you for being so transparent in our relationship.

    Like

Leave a Reply

