Ministry of One


crossMinistry by definition is the work or vocation of a minister of religion.

A  minister by definition is a member of the clergy.

A clergy by definition is the body of all people ordained for religious duties, especially in the Christian Church.

The word ministry has become the “buzz” word of churches and non-profit organizations over the last few years. It identifies efforts made by two people or thousands. When you hear the word used you immediately understand that whatever the size and focus it is about sharing God’s love and trying to grow the Kingdom. Trying to share about Jesus and reach the lost.

What maybe often forgotten or overlooked is that we are all a minister and a member of the clergy by definition even though we may not hold a degree in Biblical studies. Once we accept Jesus in our lives and are saved we must share the news to the world. No formal education required. Just get out there and tell everyone you can. The Spirit within us, continuous studies of the Word, and living as Godly as we can each day provide us the education and experience we need to reach those in need. To grow the Kingdom. As I studied 2 Corinthians 6:3-10, I changed the wording as I read to be more personal. (changes are italicized)

A mission statement for a ministry of one.

I live in such a way that no one will stumble because of me, and no one will find fault with my ministry. In everything I do, I show that I am a true minister of God. I patiently endure troubles and hardships and calamities of every kind. I have been beaten, been put in prison, faced angry mobs, worked to exhaustion, endured sleepless nights, and gone without food. I prove myself by my purity, my understanding, my patience, my kindness, by the Holy Spirit within me, and by my sincere love. I faithfully preach the truth. God’s power is working in me. I use the weapons of righteousness in the right hand for attack and the left hand for defense. I serve God whether people honor me or despise me, whether they slander me or praise me. I am honest, but they call me impostor. I am ignored, even though I am well known. I live close to death, but I am still alive. I have been beaten, but I  have not been killed. My hearts ache, but I always have joy. I am poor, but I give spiritual riches to others. I own nothing, and yet I have everything.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

