Comfortable like Nike Free


nike freeHave you ever owned a pair of Nike Free shoes? Let’s just say they are the most comfortable shoe I have ever worn in my life. Literally. So comfortable you don’t even know you are wearing them. Kind of like our Christianity. 

This weekend my wife and I had a chance to get away and spend some private time with the Lord and with each other. We covered many spiritual topics but where we always seem to come back to in our conversations was how comfortable we become as Christians. How our focus and efforts can be like a sine wave full of ups and downs and clarity and blurriness. Discomfort is a lack of physical comfort and we are good at avoiding that feeling. We will do whatever we can to avoid the uneasy and we place our love of Jesus on hold for our benefit. Makes me think of questions such as…

Do I love Him that much?

Do I believe in Him that much?

What about the pain and sacrifice He made for me?

He didn’t hesitate or back down from the horrific torture that He went through for me yet I sometime don’t want to leave my safe space. I get scared to reach out a helping hand. I get scared to let go of my finances to give to others in need or to support growing the Kingdom. I stop serving and doing what God has called me to do and I risk being disobedient. My Christianity is not like a shoe. One that I can take off and put in a closet if it no longer serves my purpose or the newness wears off. The newness never wears because each and everyday is a new day to put on my Christianity and walk with a snap in my step. Jesus is alive in me and that should be all the comfort I need.

Don’t let your Christianity become so comfortable you don’t even know you’re wearing it.

Remember, it is sin to know what you ought to do and then not do it.

James 4:17

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by juliesuman on April 14, 2013 - 3:23 pm

    Preach it! It’s time to get uncomfortable. Thanks so much for being such a man of God for me and our children.

    Like

  2. #2 by juliesuman on April 14, 2013 - 3:27 pm

    Reblogged this on Lift Up A Voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

