Love Thy Neighbor


love thy neighborWhen someone is in need, be ready to help them. Always be eager to practice hospitality.

 Romans 12:13

Just the other day, I was trying to get the mower fired up for the first grass cutting event of the season. Unfortunately, the mower was not prepared to get started this year and the event left me frustrated and in the end pushing the mower back in the garage. No sooner did I retreat back in the house, the doorbell rang. It was our neighbor from across the street and without hesitation he simply asked, “would you like to borrow my mower”? As I walked with him to get the mower, he stated “what’s a neighbor for if you can’t help each other out”?

In ways, this man understood what the Gospel often refers to and what I often fail to practice regularly. Love thy neighbor. There are neighbors all around us that need help. Big help, little help, not too much, and sometime way more help than we can give. But guess what? The degree of need should stop us from doing.

Google’s definition of neighbor is a person living near or next door to the speaker or the person refered to.

I like to think that the person doesn’t even have to live in my neighborhood for that person to be considered one that I need to help. It is your co-worker, a church family member, the person walking in the rain without an umbrella.

I think that we get mentally stuck on the word neighbor. I talk to a lot of people and as soon as you mention that word their demeanor changes and they often utter, “I am not helping out my neighbor”. We need to think outside our ‘block’. Love is a choice. We may not have much in common with that person or agree with who or what they stand for but we are not giving the right to judge. The one thing you do for someone may be just the hope they need to feel a part of this big world. To know that they are loved and that somone made them feel they exist. It could also possibly be a turning point to help them turn from what they are a slave to and struggling with. We all need to be loved and feel a part of something. Our soul requires it.

Jesus said it best in John 13:34-35: “So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.”

I so desperatelty want to be a disciple for Jesus Christ and He has told me what I have to do to earn it.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by juliesuman on April 13, 2013 - 3:21 pm

    You are one of the most giving people I know. I love watching you serve others.

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on April 13, 2013 - 3:25 pm

      I am a work in progress for sure but one thing is for sure… I love having you by my side as we serve together. †

      Like

  2. #3 by juliesuman on April 13, 2013 - 3:22 pm

    Reblogged this on Lift Up A Voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

