Canyon of Doubt


Sometimes we just need to dig a little deeper. Dig deeper into our hearts for that faith that has brought us many blessings. We are all broken and at times when things get tough our natural reaction is to get going without God. I think that one of the hardest things to accept is that we will face hardships no matter how much we love Him. In John 16:33, Jesus states “here on earth you will have many trial and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world”. Fear will grab hold of us when we are down and begin to transform our mind into wanting to make a choice.

Me or God?

If God is not going to show up or doesn’t have a bigger plan for me I will make it on my own, right? Is he even listening? This is where you need to bunker down and fight the war against doubt and not be a casualty to fear.

Yesterday, I had a conversation with Jules on this topic and she made a couple of very good points when she was asked if God is listening during these tough times. She simply stated…

God maybe telling you what the plans are and you are not listening

You may have listened but you are struggling with accepting his plan for you

He maybe allowing you to struggle so that you may grow stronger, both personally and in your faith.

Sometimes our future looks like an empty canyon. We keep looking over the edge expecting to see something. That something being God. What we don’t is notice that he is standing right next to us making sure that we don’t fall.

Lift Up A Voice Blog ~ He’s not finished

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Christi Johnson on January 13, 2012 - 8:33 pm

    I am dealing with allowing God to have free reign in my life as well and making sure that I remember that God is in complete control of our lives. This post is so beautiful. Thank you for the encouragement. So…quick question: what denomination are you, if any?

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on January 13, 2012 - 8:38 pm

      Hello Christi, I had been attending the Vineyard which is non-denominational. I am also now the worship leader of a church plant which is non-denominational, however the pastor comes from a Church of God background. My band Faith Passage often leads worship at various churches and we believe that we all serve one God and we welcome everyone in fellowship to grow God’s Kingdom. Thanks so much for reading my blog and God Bless.

      Like

  2. #3 by Dr. Deana on January 13, 2012 - 10:54 pm

    Brian, the revelation in your post is fresh and on-point. God does sometimes speak to us through circumstances. He makes all things work for good to those who are called to His purpose. All He wants is to be Believed. Thank you for putting this into perspective.
    Showers of Blessings!

    Live by Design,
    DD

    Like

    • #4 by Brian Suman on January 14, 2012 - 7:00 am

      Hello Dr. Deana, it has almost been two years now since I realized God’s purpose for me and I have been living it with him by my side.

      Thanks so much for your time to read my post and comment.

      God Bless,
      Brian

      Like

  1. He’s not finished « Lift Up A Voice

Leave a Reply

