My 2012 New Years Eve Party (not hosted by Dick Clark)


Ok, maybe Dick Clark is not going to host a show about my resolutions but wouldn’t that be cool? I grew up as many of us did to Dick bringing in the New Year. The hype, the crowd, the confetti… the resolutions.

That is still how we all bring in the New Year right?

We talk with all the hype.

We are so excited.

We tell everyone about what we are going to do next year.

We can’t wait.

We even buy the confetti at the party supply store and throw it all around once the ball drops. Then we clean up and prepare for the challenge…

Compliments of timessquareball.net

With that being said, I am going to bring my new year with the following resolutions…

1. Momentum –

It happens to be my word of the year for our ministry but it also applies in all areas of my life. If I allow movement towards a goal to stop I risk never seeing the reward of accomplishment. Sure, there may never be constant movement towards a goal but if you let it stop for too long you risk the ambition or dream dying. Fear or not wanting to take risk can stifle my movement and I must turn away from fear when faced with it. “Don’t even think about it; don’t go that way. Turn away and keep moving”. Proverbs 4:15 NLT

2. Health –

I know, boiler plate right? But, I am looking at is from a different angle other than how I look this summer at the pool. In 1 Corinthians 6:19 NLT it says, “Don’t you realize that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God?”  Wow, for me to be able to continue to minister and tell others about Jesus for as long I live I had better pay attention to how I take care of me.

3. To be a better follower –

Now, I am on fire because I just read the book Not A Fan by Kyle Idleman but is sure did make me reflect on my relationship with Jesus. I need to be in constant focus this year to make sure that I do not allow myself to become more of a fan of Jesus and not a follower. “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me”. Luke 9:23 NLT

Let the countdown begin…

Other blog references:

Pam Boyd’s Blog

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jules Smith on December 29, 2011 - 10:00 am

    2012 had better watch out for you! I know that you will do great things this year, not only for yourself – but also for God!

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on December 29, 2011 - 10:08 am

      You too! You are such an inspiration to keep growing and giving it up for God. Thanks so much.

      Like

  2. #3 by Jules Smith on December 29, 2011 - 10:02 am

    Reblogged this on Lift Up A Voice.

    Like

  3. #4 by Pam Boyd on January 1, 2012 - 1:50 pm

    You R an inspiration! Thanks for the follow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

