Acoustic Guitar Magazine No. 221- Smart Practicing


In an earlier post Approach to Practice, I asked the question of the readers what practice tips or strategies they used. I believe that practice strategies differ by the individual and can be even unorthodox at times. In the May 2011, No. 221 edition, the article Smart Practicing does a great job of collecting practice tips from various artists such as Don Ross, Grant Gordy. and Tyler Grant to name a few. I wanted to utilize this post to summarize the points in case you didn’t get the opportunity to read the article.

1. Remove distractions
2. Pay attention to posture
3. Loosen up – use warm up exercises
4. Begin with the basics
5. Ease into it – settle in before the tough stuff
6. Don’t hurt, be happy – if it hurts, something is not right
7. Think quality, not quantity
8. Take breaks
9. Set deadlines – use schedules or agendas
10. Listen before play
11. Sing it
12. Learn it right the first time
13. Start with the tough stuff
14. Slow down the trouble spots
15. Steal from other instruments – transcribe other instruments
16. Take it section by section
17. Consider the big picture
18. Practice in your head
19. Try it with a test audience
20. Take it easy on performance day – practice light
21. Let go of perfectionism

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by TheGreatPlainsPoet on August 2, 2011 - 1:41 am

    Great list Brian! I need to obey rule #21 the most. I try to practice my weak areas in the body of my practice time. I play my strengths when I am just noodling or jamming. Nice post.

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on August 2, 2011 - 5:49 am

      Hello,

      #21 is a one if the biggies for me also. A couple that I feel that I have concentrated on improving and have to some degree this year is #7 and #14 but there is still lots of room for improvement. I am glad you enjoyed the post and thanks for the comments.

      I hope that your week is blessed.
      Brian

      Like

  1. Acoustic Guitar Magazine No. 221- Smart Practicing (via The Acoustic Strings) « The Social Alliance

Leave a Reply

