What Can I Do To Help?


As a guitar player, I am always looking for inspiration that can help me become a better player and I often find that from many different styles and experience levels of other players. In return, I would love to help others find answers to questions or provide inspiration so that we can all can become better players. I am humble in the fact that I am one of millions of players and I have so much more to learn but I want to be a part of an effort to continue to provide education and possibly a different approach to playing the acoustic guitar. As a means to that end, what can I do to help? Please reply with questions or suggestions for future blogs.

Thank you,

Brian Suman

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by gomofo on July 31, 2011 - 8:58 pm

    Hey Brian

    I always find that breaking away from the routine for a couple of weeks, literally putting your guitar down if you can and not even thinking about it, go to the library and get all those cd’s out that your friends recommended and listen to them without being critical. Just put them on and see if anything could possibly fit with what you like.

    For me (my practice schedule is 3-4 hours a day with 2-3 gigs every week and 25 students) I find it quite hard to put it down so I go genre hopping.

    Lately its mainly Jazz, but before then was a lot of bluegrass, and before then was country. George Benson and Sonny Rollins are my 2 jazz vices ATM and im transcribing several versions of foggy mountain breakdown to make it as rad as possible (for my ears).

    What ever really floats your boat is key really,

    Most people I know like chasing the virtuosos? Only you can figure out what makes you tick / what sounds you like, but the real issue is: what you like is going to constantly evolve so keep trekkin’ man

    Like

    • #2 by Brian Suman on July 31, 2011 - 9:11 pm

      Thanks for the advice and I do find that often the best inspiration comes after not picking it up for a while. I also like to dive into really listening to other genres and players for inspiration until I feel like I begin to imitate instead of listening. Then it is time to move onto something else.

      Have a great week!

      Like

  1. What Can I Do To Help? (via The Acoustic Strings) « The Social Alliance
  2. What Can I Do To Help? (via The Acoustic Strings) « Faith Passage

Leave a Reply

