Stage Fright


Joe Boyd, our teaching pastor at the Vineyard Community Church, had once made a statement that has become a staple motive in my life many months later.

“You have to lean into your fears”.

Since I have always had a passion for music, I not only have played my share of air guitar through the years but I also have done my share of lip syncing and let me tell you I was pretty good at it and through my imagination I won my share of Grammys from the efforts. I have always wanted to be able to sing and not to be a lead vocalist but a decent contributor in a band. As I have overcome my fears of guitar playing, it as inched me closer to want to step out and give singing a chance. Last year, I couldn’t even grasp the concept of playing while singing but I have matured as a player and things are turning around.

Tonight I did my share of leaning and became a vocal contributor in our worship band. It’s only one song but it is a step in the direction. If I don’t ever try I will never know if it was meant to be.  I was very excited that I gave it a chance finally and can’t wait to challenge myself to grow even more.

Instead of stepping up to the plate, I stepped up to the mic.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jules Smith on July 22, 2011 - 7:31 am

    I am so proud of the way you continue to lean into your fears and for your ever-present desire to grow as a musician and as a person!

    Like

Leave a Reply

