Imitation versus Inspiration


As a guitar player, I had often faced the urge through the years to imitate other artists versus just be inspired. This is a fine line. To be able to enhance your style you need to learn from someone and that often leads to imitating whatever song or lick that intrigued you in the first place. As I started to evolve and become my own stylistically, I seem to be able to balance the two and still keep creativity brewing. Now, I know when I need to stop listening and practicing something from another player and re-focus on my style. Subconsciously what I had studied sticks and my playing naturally evolves.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

